Art News

United States, British Architects Win Israel’s Wolf Prize

Memorial Garden view of the Holocaust Memorial in Berlin designed by American architect Peter Eisenman, inaugurated in 2005.

JERUSALEM – British and American architects were
named winners of Israel’s prestigious Wolf Prize. The Wolf Foundation said
Wednesday that British architect David Chipperfield is being recognized for
overseeing the reconstruction of Berlin’s Neues Museum in a building that had
been abandoned since World War II.
His new building incorporated
bricks, stairs and bullet holes from the original museum, which opened in 1855.