Art News

Three Architects Selected to Receive the 2010 AIA Thomas Jefferson Award

Lloyd D. George - The U.S. Courthouse, Las Vegas, Nevada - Designed by Les Shepherd, AIA

The American
Institute of Architects(AIA) has
selected, Curtis Fentress, FAIA, a designer, Les Shepherd, AIA, a government
agency head, and Ken Greenberg, Assoc. AIA, an urban planner to receive the 2010
Thomas Jefferson Award for Public Architecture.
This year’s
award recipients will be honored and receive their awards at the 2010 AIA
National Convention and Design Exposition in Miami.
The Thomas Jefferson Award recognizes
excellence in architectural advocacy and achievement in three categories:
Private-sector architects who have established a portfolio of accomplishment in
the design of architecturally distinguished public facilities; public-sector
architects who manage or produce quality design within their agencies; and
public officials or other individuals who by their role of advocacy have
furthered the public’s awareness and/or appreciation of design excellence.