Shortlist Announced for New Fourth Plinth Commission


LONDON.- The shortlist of artists for the next commission to go on the Fourth Plinth in Trafalgar Square was announced today. The artists are Allora & Calzadilla, Elmgreen & Dragset, Katharina Fritsch, Brian Griffiths, Hew Locke and Mariele Neudecker. The shortlisted artists have been commissioned to produce a maquette of their proposed work, which will be unveiled in an exhibition in the crypt of St Martins in the Fields on 19 August 2010. The selected artist is due to be announced by the Mayor of London early next year, with the artwork they produce being installed after the current work, Nelson’s Ship in a Bottle by Yinka Shonibare MBE has been taken down at the end of 2011. The Fourth Plinth Programme is funded by the Mayor of London and Arts Council England and sees new artworks being selected for the vacant plinth in a rolling programme of new commissions. A key element of the Fourth Plinth Programme is to involve people in the debate about public art. The public will