Winners of 2011 EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards Announced


BRUSSELS.- The 27 winners of the 2011 European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards are announced today by the European Commission and Europa Nostra. The awards will be presented on 10 June during a ceremony at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam in the presence of Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, and Plácido Domingo, the world-renowned tenor and president of Europa Nostra. Out of the 27 winning projects, six will be named as ‘grand prix’ laureates at the ceremony as 2011’s most outstanding heritage achievements. “Each of the winners represent the best of Europe’s achievements in conservation, research and education, as well as honouring dedicated service by individuals and groups. Cultural heritage is an essential part of our cultural diversity and shared history; it brings together our past, present and future. It has helped to make E