U.S. Section of International Association of Art Critics Announces Annual Award Winners


NEW YORk, NY.- The US section of the International Association of Art Critics/AICA-USA announced its annual awards to honor artists, curators, museums, galleries and other cultural institutions in recognition of excellence in the conception and realization of exhibitions. The winning projects were nominated and voted on by the 400 active members to honor outstanding exhibitions of the previous season (June 2009-June 2010). The 26 winners of first and second places in twelve categories, selected from over one hundred finalists, include exhibitions focusing on contemporary artists Marina Abramović, Tino Seghal and Cai Guo-Qiang, the mid 20th century artists Arshile Gorky and Yves Klein and the 19th-century and early 20th century masters Henri Matisse, Otto Dix and Claude Monet, as well as thematic exhibitions dealing with the presence of women artists in pop art, history of performance art, and the Bauhaus. Awards will be