SFMOMA Announces 2010 SECA Award Winners


SAN FRANCISCO, CA.- The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) announced that Mauricio Ancalmo, Colter Jacobsen, Ruth Laskey, and Kamau Amu Patton are the 2010 artists selected for its biennial SECA Art Award. Administered by SECA (Society for the Encouragement o f Contemporary Art), one of the museum’s auxiliaries, the signature award honors Bay Area artists who are working independently at a high level of artistic maturity but who have not yet received substantial recognition. The four award winners will receive a modest cash prize and will be featured in an exhibition (with accompanying catalogue) that will open at the museum in the fall of 2011. The upcoming SECA Art Award exhibition coincides with the 50th anniversary of SECA. Distinguished as one of the few and longest standing award programs dedicated to local artists at a modern art museum in the United States, SECA has been bridging the traditional divide between