Sam Jury is Perlmutter Award winner


CHICAGO, IL.- The Rose Art Museum and Stephen Haller Gallery announced that artist Sam Jury will be honored on November 1st with the 2011 Ruth Ann and Nathan Perlmutter Award. The award honors emerging artists on the cusp of international acclaim. Roxy Paine, Barry McGee, Dana Schutz, and Alexis Rockman are among the past recipients. The Perlmutter Award, which includes an artist residency, will culminate with a solo exhibition at the Rose Art Museum scheduled for Fall 2012. The museum, celebrating its 50th anniversary this fall, is located just outside Boston on the campus of Brandeis University. Famed for its extraordinary collection of modern and contemporary art, the museum is also famed for its recent controversy surrounding the possible sale of that collection by the university. The controversy, which had riveted art world attention around the world, has concluded with the collection intact