Jury announced for United Kingdom’s biggest painting prize


LIVERPOOL.- Call for entries to John Moores Painting Prize 2012 at the Walker Art Gallery. Artists can register for the John Moores Painting Prize 2012 from Monday 3 October 2011. The 2012 prize promises to be more dynamic than ever with a judging panel that consists of practicing artists, critics, curators and cultural commentators. Judges for this year’s competition are ‘Young British Artist’ Fiona Banner who was born on Merseyside, director of the Whitechapel Art Gallery Iwona Blazwick, Spanish born Angela de la Cruz, a former Turner Prize 2010 nominee, Turner Prize 2011 nominee George Shaw and creative director of the BBC, Alan Yentob. The John Moores Painting Prize is an open submission competition available to all UK based artists working with paint. Previous winners have included David Hockney, Peter Doig and Lisa Milroy. The 2010 First Prize was won by Keith Coventry. Reyahn King, director of